To Purrsnickitty: Who didn’t come in for the last time

How I wish you would prowl the ledge

Of my study window, meowing,

Then, when I went to the patio door

You would flop on the pavement and roll, finally

Running off when I tried to bring you in.

 

Curse you, Purrsnickitty for setting me up

Then running off,

But double-curse you, because you didn’t come in

This morning and now my ledge is empty.

 

I wish you would appear at that patio door

With your silent meow, stepping halfway in,

Rubbing the screen door, and finally, finally

Bringing your hind carcass into the house.

How you loved to taunt us, the dog and me,

Making your entrance into the premises

A grand gesture.

 

How I wish you would taunt us again.

Darting across the room, then turning back

As if coming in had been a mistake.

Maybe another jaunt around the yard

Would be delicious.

“No Purrsnickitty, you are in for night,

No more prowling the hostas and day lilies.”

 

How I wish you were in now, safe, if not satisfied.

I wish your infuriating felinity

Would grace our living room and we could

Tell you tomorrow would be your chance to prowl again.

But you didn’t come in today and I fear

There will be no tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *