Magnanimity

Today also my complaint is bitter; his hand is heavy despite my groaning. Oh, that I knew where I might find him, that I might come even to his dwelling! I would lay my case before him, and fill my mouth with arguments. I would learn what he would answer me, and understand what he would say to me. Would he contend with me in the greatness of his power? No; but he would give heed to me. There an upright person could reason with him, and I should be acquitted forever by my judge.(Job 23:1-9)

“Magnanimity: Proceeding from or revealing generosity or nobility of mind or character.” Great-souled. Job portrays God as “great-souled,” a being that

“. . . would give heed to me.” We have a new definition of the divine: God, who contains power, listens and considers and acts from love. Whereas those who seek power act only from the motive of power. The image of the politician listening is a travesty of the divine. There is no listening, only considering how your plea can consolidate his or her power. Most political campaigns are driven by power-grasping, masked by the pretense of serving.

” . . . an upright person could reason with him.” In fact God made concessions out of love. God heard the appeals of Abraham, of Moses, of Jesus, who prayed for their followers and received mercy. The political animal makes no concessions. The appeals of bereaved families fall on deaf ears of gun activists. Concessions are impossible, because every law regulating gun ownership is portrayed as a threat to the second Amendment. Trust in God, but preserve access to the automatic weapon at all costs.

“I should be acquitted forever by my judge.” God could temper justice with mercy. Divine forgiveness came to South Africa and to Charleston, South Carolina, but do not expect it from Nativists or the militants of the Freedom Caucus. Amnesty is poison to their system. Could there be a dialogue about restoring transgressors to the nation that “lifts its lamp beside the golden door”? No, that would be unfair to those who stood patiently in line to enter. Prodigal son, come back when the elder brother has had his vengeance.

“Would he contend with me in the greatness of his power?” No, God does not argue. Magnanimity means God embraces us in our frustration, holds us in our indignation, surrounds us with mercy and and carries us beyond this moment. This is how a “great-souled” being deals with disappointment and hurt. And why we are never abandoned, though we may walk the path of Job.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *