The Writers

As the year closes, I remember those who write with me all the year around- in my church and across the miles- those who write to recognize faith in their lives- and those who revive their family stories.  They write, not only to remember, but to learn about themselves and to draw together as a community. This spiritual practice shows itself in all forms: memoir, poetry, travelogue, book reviews, family stories, faith stories, to name a few.

We gathered outside of Zoom in early May for a Writing Marathon, a movable feast: writing, traveling and eating. I wrote about  it at  https://wtucker.edublogs.org/2023/05/09/11032/

At Thanksgiving I wrote about my writing family, Writer’s Life:

When I think of my closest friends here, I think of you, because we have shared our most intimate stories, our joys and our griefs.  Thank you for welcoming me when I was a stranger. I am a little reserved and sometimes remote, but among such expressive and kind people, I feel secure.

Then there are those who spent last summer pondering the moments when God was visible in their lives. We call them “Faith Stories.”  These seekers read examples of faith stories, from Anne Lamott  to Brian McLaren to the collection called “This I Believe,” by National Public Radio. They worked and re-worked their stories, and many of them published their work on our church blog “Discover St.Mark.”  In this effort we tried to model the “Share” part of our church theme: “Seek, Discover, Share.” I cannot share the blog link here, because some of the writers did not wish their work to go beyond the church family.
I want to acknowledge and give thanks for my primary editor,  my spouse Victoria Sherman, who gives welcomed and un-welcomed feedback, particularly for pieces I submit to the St.Louis Post-Dispatch. She didn’t edit this blog entry, so don’t blame her for it. Victoria is also a “faith story” writer.
Finally, I acknowledge the frequent readers of this blog, many of them writers themselves. Without readers, most of us would give up, because what’s the fun of only writing for yourself?
In such great company I have rejoiced in the life of writing. If you contemplate writing in 2024, think of it as a “life,” so you don’t forget that anything can be story or a poem. Don’t confine yourself to “high thoughts,” or you will never begin.
Just enjoy the life.

2 thoughts on “The Writers

  1. We are blessed to have you in “Writer’s Life.” You add so much in the most kindly way. Thanks for sharing your final “Christmas tree.” Hope you and Mitch have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *