For Paulaner Salvator, heavenly brew

Lord of heavenly concoctions, thanks for Francis of Paola and the monks of the Neudeck ob der Au monastery, first brewers of Paulaner Salvator in 1634. Their excess was shared with the poor and quaffed at the cloister pub. Their fame began with a letter of complaint from local brewers, who did not appreciate the competition. Thanks that they persevered to become purveyors of six-packs by the Paulaner Brauerei Gruppe.

Not to dismiss water or wine, Lord, but this brew goes down with divine smoothness. No sweet or bitter catch at the back of the throat, but the same delicate hops, yeast and malt from opening of the lips to the precipice of the tongue.  For some, a sudden sour surprise gives joy, but for me a stream of suave brew along each taste bud is sensational.  Thanks for the monks that grew the malt that makes the brew that sold in the pub that Francis built.

One plea for goodness and mercy I raise, O Lord. May I dwell in the tent of Winzerer Fähndl for Oktoberfest a single day of my life.  You will be my first toast and Francis of Paola my second. Then I will happily adjourn to the House of the Lord forever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paulaner is one of the six breweries who provide beer for Oktoberfest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *